Want

2

October 21, 2010 by itheebake

 

 

 

 

Lately I have been doing some proper research into leavening agents. I have learnt a lot about yeasts and bicarbonate of soda and baking powder.

To say that I have been doing some proper research is almost an understatement I have been obsessed with it, I have had sleepless nights about it, I have cried on the stodgy crumbs of my unrisen cakes.

For now all of that “learning” has been done online through blogs and internet forums.

Some of the pearls I have learnt:

  • Baking powder/soda has an expiry date, normally 6 months.
  • Baking soda and bicarbonate of soda need an acid in order to work (that is why so many recipes call for buttermilk or yoghurt or lemon)
  • Baking powder starts losing power as soon as you mix in the wet ingredients, that is why the are meant to be mixed separately.

Thinking back,  all of the above could apply to why my cakes have not been reaching their desirable height.

That is it so far, I’ll keep sharing my wisdom in future posts.

One day I want a book collection like Nigella’s! Can I, please?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Want

  1. Lauren says:

    Praline!!! Yum beyond yum!

Leave a Reply

