In which I totally lose my cool

Leave a comment

November 1, 2010 by itheebake

In a twist of fate I might just be about to eat my hat, my words or any other thing you eat to express regret and cringe at the same time.

I just had the most stressful hour and a half of my life. EVER! and I can not stress enough how stressed I still feel as a result (20 minutes have passed)

But let’s start from the beginning: This happy morning I woke up, birds were chirping in my window sill, sun was shining, things looked rosy.

A friend is having her baby shower this afternoon and I decided I would bake a cake for her, it would be great practice and would give me the chance to try my hand at baking the cake I made last weekend together with my homey on me own. The one that came out per-fect and was a ball to make, remember?.

Started with the routine of clearing out first, then displaying all the ingredients and then starting the process seemed to be going to plan.  Nothing worthy of mention. But soon the lovely morning turned into a Sturm un drang of frustration and nerves, regret and fear. Three times I was this close to throwing in the towel and saying to heck with it all I’ll just buy her some cupcake and mess them up a bit to make them look more “me”.

There were a few challenging moments such as trying to cream the butter and sugar in a relatively shallow mixing bowl. I tried to do it topless but it went e-ve-ry-where. I tried used the old trick of covering it with a tea towel. Then it got tangled and  green fibers went everywhere. This made me realise even more how much a need a Kitchen Aid (hello Mr. Kenwood, would you like to sponsor? have your people call my people)

Lining the cake tin on my own was a bit of a pain in the backside as well, I have not been gifted with the skills necessary to turn a sheet of paper into a cake tin like shape.

but in hindsight these were just minor bloopers.  The cake came out lovely and tall like the time before. Perhaps a tad more dry but I believe this was my own fault.

It looked nice, and peeps seemed to like it, too!

I think with a bit of practice this cake might become my go to recipe, it seems foolproof enough.

I also tried my unskilled hand at decorating, the heart above is what came out

Leave a Reply

