What the future holds

Leave a comment

November 6, 2010 by itheebake

Because I have been cheating on cakes with pies and other baked goods I decided to give the productive baking a rest for a week, that and the fact that I couldn’t be bothered to go out and get some key ingredients on my day off because it was all windy and dark at 4 p.m. The whole task just seemed too daunting at the time and not as appealing as staying home watching Dexter and other guilty pleasure shows.

 

While my sister was home visiting (the real cook in the family) we made a quick fix Tarte Tatin and a quick fix Banofee Pie, both prototypes for our Christmas dinner dessert. We also tried  our hand at making chocolate bread. In my own humble opinion it was a bit too hefty and slightly undercooked but I took it to work and everybody raved about it. Folks at work, hey, they’ll just eat anything (perhaps one day I will bring in something really vile just to see if they eat it too or if they’d be honest)

Before

After

 

This is not a cake to eat as a culmination of a meal, this, as my mum would say, is something to have mid-morning with tea or coffee.

Now, thanks to a website, I know that the big day is five months away I think I should start concentrating on finding a kick ass recipe, perfecting it to the point of being able to do it in my sleep, and an equally kick ass frosting/icing (is there a difference?).

There is a chocolate and rum cake recipe I have found that I am very keen on and a Swiss Buttercream recipe that looks yummy too (albeit a bit tricky to achieve without an electric mixer, but I shall give it my best shot).

Yes, all very exciting!

Leave a Reply

