I am trying, I swear

Leave a comment

November 12, 2010 by itheebake

I am trying my best at being a good baker and do as I’m told, not make up things, listen to those who know more than me and follow recipes accurately. But for some reason there is something in me that doesn’t want to and goes along with the well-known phrase: feck it, that’ll do.

The other day I was very keen to try the chocolate and rum torte I mentioned in an earlier post.

The recipe it’s simple enough, with the slight twist of adding ground almonds to the batter, which I guess makes is crummier. I don’t know, don’t ask me, I just do what I am told, sort of.

Well the chef that had carefully thought this recipe said 200gr. of ground almonds- I only had 100. 200gr melted chocolate-I had 150ish. 200gr of butter-for some reason I put 250gr in there. Since I had too little chocolate I thought I’d make it up by adding about 50 gr of powder chocolate into the melted chocolate and butter mixture. What’s the worst that could happen?

Because I have had my fair share of disappointment I added one extra teaspoon of baking powder for good meassure. Baking powder is another one of those things you can never have too much of.

So my recipe goes a bit like this:

4 eggs separated

250gr butter

150gr dark chocolate

50gr powder chocolate

100gr ground almonds

150gr caster sugar

150gr. self raising flour

1 tsp baking powder.

half a cup of brewed coffee (cool)

Start by separating the eggs. Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl placed over simmering water. whisk the egg whites to soft peaks, then add the sugar gradually, then the yolks one by one. when it’s starting to form stiff peaks add the sugar, flour, almonds, baking powder and chocolate mixture and the coffee . Put in the oven at 170C for about 50min (the recipe said 35 but it needed way more than that in my oven).

When it’s done let it cool in the tin for another 30 min (and this will finish cooking the cake) and then while still hot sprinkle with the rum.

To top it I made simple buttercream icing with a lot more icing sugar that it’s good for you, soft butter and a bit of milk.

What can I say? I manage to make it on my own without a meltdown and it tastes good enough. Next time I might make it the proper way see if I can taste the difference, and perhaps add a pinch of salt, I think salt makes the flavour deeper.

It has potential to be the ultimate cake for the big day.

8/10

Leave a Reply

