not another christmas post

Leave a comment

January 1, 2011 by itheebake

After the New Year’s Eve revelries arrives my long awaited post about a christmas inspired cake.

Looking for decorating alternatives my dedicated sister sent me a recipe for a cake covered in chocolate mousse and caramelised  hazelnuts. I thought it could work well as a pudding for a christmas dinner, so I got stuck in a produced this thing in the picture bellow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It consists mainly of two sponge cakes, chocolate mousse and hazelnuts in caramel crunched.

Now, I won’t lie to you, I have been getting a bit cocky about my cake skills because the last ones have been growing and rising without problems and they tasted ok too, so I thought I was beyond caring anymore and that all my cakes were going to rise and I was already a cake master. Wrong. It only took one cake to come up short to destroy my confidence. The gods of the cakes wanted to teach me a lesson and decided to present me with a recipe in which the sponge does not grow. I should have known when reading it but I did not pay any attention to the fact that the measurements were a bit scarce. When I took the cake out of the oven I became really upset, I wanted to cry and abandon the enterprise. I moved defeated onto the sofa and sobbed. After a few minutes I came back and picked up a book of recipes and discovered that 125grs of flour were never gonna make a tall cake. Ever. I picked myself up and made a second tier, the chocolate mousse and assembled. And the result was not too bad.

Now, personally I am not the biggest fan of chocolate mousse but I thought the cake looked pretty and christmasy and the decorating part was not too challenging. Must admit I only topped it with the nuts instead of sticking them to the sides like the recipe said.

Leave a Reply

